New Year Goal

From the New Blogger Initiative Week One options:

Meetings are starting up. School is revving up. You are teeming with ideas (which is why we’re doing this Blogging Initiation now). What is one goal you have for the first week of school (or “had,” if you already started).

My new (school) year goal is to stay ORGANIZED. This has been a constant struggle for me, as I was working out of five different classrooms at two different schools last year. Up until now I haven’t had my own classroom space to organize. This means 1) I haven’t been terribly organized myself and 2) I haven’t had to devise classroom organization systems for my students, as I just used whatever was already in place in each of my classrooms.

My goal is to start this year with a supply basket for each table group (stored strategically around the classroom), an outgoing bin for each class period (stored in a bookcase) and an ingoing tray for each class period (stored on my teacher desk).  When I collect papers they will go straight into the ingoing tray for each class, and once things have been graded/recorded and are ready to go back to students, they will go in the outgoing bin.

Handouts I will need for each day will be stored in hanging file folders by the day – I only have one main prep this year so I don’t think I need to have separate files per class period.

I hope this works!

This entry was posted in Classroom Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year Goal

  1. Appetite for Instruction says:

    What are you using for your outgoing and ingoing trays? I’ve tried a few with varying degrees of success–some got too messy or took up space.

  2. Abigail says:

    For ingoing, I am using plastic stacked trays, the kind you can buy at an office supply store. They are for me, not for students to put papers into (I just have kids stack papers in the center of their table groups and go around and collect them), so I think it will work out okay. I had a 50% off one item coupon for Staples and I got a pack of 6 for $8; I teach 5 classes so I will have one spare for something else.
    For outgoing, I inherited wire trays and I just have them lined up on two shelves of one of my bookcases, with labels for each period. I plan to put outgoing work in these bins and training students to pass papers back from them.

Leave a Reply

